BUY ORIGINALS

& PRINTS VIA:

 

ARTIST ONLINE SHOP 

 

SAATCHI ART

#Esposito on Instagram (click the button below).......

Instagram

SHARE THIS SITE

WITH YOUR FRIENDS 

Could we make schools more like Universities and encourage our teachers to remain practitioners once they qualify?

Write a comment

Comments: 1
  • #1

    Charlotte Esposito (Wednesday, 18 May 2011 17:17)

    When I was working in mainstream education I found it almost impossible to do any art or design work of my own (other than that used for lesson planning) purely due to time constraints! I managed to paint sometimes in the evenings and holidays but not nearly as much as I wanted to. I don't work in that environment anymore but I would still love to see teachers off time table for two days a week with one day working in industry and one day spent producing their own work 'in house'. I strongly believe that this would allow students to see their teachers as working practitioners; it would also allow and encourage teachers to use their own skills on a regular basis which would help them to keep their skills base current and non-rusty! The industry day would allow teachers to keep up to date with industry developments, to build school/business and enterprise links and would allow industry professionals the chance to utilise the valuable skills of the teachers involved.
    It isn't the way that things are done now, but that doesn't make the idea impossible does it? Your thoughts please?